Argentina: Heavy-duty: Emissions

Argentina: Heavy-duty: Emissions


As of January 1, 2018, all new heavy-duty vehicles and engines were required to comply with the Euro V standard. The Euro IV standard was adopted in 2011 but never implemented, so Argentina jumped directly from Euro III to Euro V implementation.

Standard type
Conventional pollutant emission limits

Regulating Body

The Ministry of Environment and Sustainable Development (Ministerio de Ambiente y Desarrollo Sustentable), formerly known as the Secretaría de Ambiente y Desarrollo Sustentable.

Current Standard
Euro V Resolution 1464/2014. Euro V standards applied to new vehicle models in 2016 and to all vehicle models in 2018.

Vehicles with GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating) > 3,856 kg


When emissions regulations for both light- and heavy-duty vehicles in Argentina first became effective in 1995, they were loosely based on European regulations. Starting in 2005, Resolution 731/2005 set emission standards as a reference to the Directives of the European Commission for emission limits and test methods, beginning with Euro III and IV. European standards are usually implemented in two phases, first applying only to new vehicle models or type approvals, and afterward to all vehicles. Argentina follows this same pattern.

While the adoption of Euro III and IV emission standards occurred in 2005 (Resolution 731/2005), it extended into a period of several years; the implementation of both regulations co-existed until the end of 2015 and Euro IV remained until 2017. Euro V standards were finally adopted in 2016 for new models, and for all vehicles by 2018, as required by Resolution 1462/2014.

Despite adopting the Euro IV regulatory path, Argentina never used it and moved directly from Euro III to Euro V implementation. This occurred for the following reasons:

  1. The heavy-duty vehicle market in Argentina is closely tied to Brazil’s: close to 75% of trucks in Argentina are imported from Brazil. Therefore, a delay in the implementation of Euro IV standards in Brazil, leading to a jump from a Euro III equivalent (known as PROCONVE 5, or P-5) to Euro V (P-7), resulted in a rippling effect for Argentinian policy.
  2. Delays in the implementation of emission standards and lack of availability of low sulfur diesel allowed for an overlap between the full adoptions of Euro IV and Euro V standards in 2016, post-Euro III. As a result, no vehicle or engine was certified under Euro IV.

Technical Standards

The standards reflected below are based on European heavy-duty engine emission regulations.

Emission Standards for Diesel Trucks and Buses
Year Reference Standard CO HC NOx PM

Vehicle Type:


1995 Euro 0 11.2 2.45 14.4 HDV; except for Urban buses
1995 Euro I* 4.9 1.23 9.0 Urban buses
1996 Euro I* 4.9 1.23 9.0 0.4a HDV
1998 Euro II 4.0 1.1 7.0 0.4a Urban buses
2000 Euro II 4.0 1.1 7.0 0.15a HDV
2006b Euro III 2.1 0.66 5.0



2009c Euro IV 1.5 0.46 3.5 0.02 HDV
2016 Euro V 1.5 0.46 2.0 0.02 HDV
* Except for PM
(a) Multiply by a factor of 1.7 for engines below 85 kW
(b) New models; 2007 for all models
(c) For engines of less than 0.75 dm3 swept volume per cylinder and a rated power speed of more than 3000 min-1(d) New models; 2011 for all models
Argentina Euro timeline

Figure 1: Timeline for implementation of nationwide emission standards for diesel HDVs. The bars show the years in which each standard was required, with hatched portions representing only new models. Note that from 2011 through 2015, both Euro III and Euro IV certifications were allowed. Source: Cost-benefit analysis of Euro VI heavy-duty emission standards in Argentina.



Heavy-duty vehicles and engines are certified in Argentina with certificates issued by accredited international testing laboratories following the European Directive for Euro V standards for emission limits, test cycles, and procedures. No testing for heavy-duty vehicles is carried out in Argentina due to the lack of infrastructure; this is not the case for light-duty vehicles, for which the country has dedicated more resources. There are two vehicle laboratories where testing is carried out: one private and another belonging to the Ministry of Environment.
The Secretary of Environmental Control and Monitoring, part of the Ministry of Environment, is responsible for heavy-duty vehicle and engine regulation verification. Those approved receive an Environmental License (Licencia de Configuración Ambiental, o LCA) required to be commercialized and circulated, in addition to other requirements established by the Ministry of Transport regarding active and passive vehicle safety (Decree 32/2018).



Fuel Standards: Argentina Euro V equivalent standards
Fuel Type or Grade (Grado) Max sulfur content in ppm Biofuel min. blend Details Regulation
Diesel (Gasoil) Grado 2 1,000
800 (2020)
350 (2024)
10% biodiesel Low density zone (Zona BD)2 Starting in 2024, zone differentiation is removed, and the maximum sulfur content will be 350 ppm Resolution 1283/2006
350 (2024)
High density zone (Zona AD)3
Grado 2b1   Same as Grado 2 but cheaper
Grado 3 10  
Gasoline (Nafta) Grado 2
(RON 93)
50 (2024)
12% Bioethanol Starting in 2024, the sulfur content will decrease to 50 ppm max.
Grado 3
(RON 97)
(1) Resolution SE 1104/2004
(2) High density zone (AD): Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, partidos del Conurbano de Almirante Brown, Avellaneda, Berazategui, Esteban Echeverría, Ezeiza, Florencio Varela, Hurlingham, Ituzaingó, José Clemente Paz, La Matanza, Lanús, Lomas de Zamora, Malvinas Argentinas, Merlo, Moreno, Morón, Presidente Perón, Quilmes, San Fernando, San Isidro, San Miguel, Tigre, Tres de Febrero y Vicente López, las ciudades de Rosario, Mar del Plata y Bahía Blanca y todas las capitales de provincia, excepto Rawson, Rio Gallegos y Ushuaia.
Starting January 1st, 2020, cities with populations over 90,000 will be considered part of the AD zone: Campana, Pergamino, Pilar, San Nicolás de los Arroyos, Tandil y Zárate de la Provincia de Buenos Aires, Comodoro Rivadavia, Puerto Madryn y Trelew de la Provincia de Chubut, Río Cuarto de la Provincia de Córdoba, Concordia de la Provincia de Entre Ríos, Guaymallén, Godoy Cruz, Las Heras y San Rafael de la Provincia de Mendoza, San Carlos de Bariloche de la Provincia de Río Negro, Villa Mercedes de la Provincia de San Luis y La Banda de la provincia de Santiago del Estero.
(3) Low density zone (BD): The remainder of the country’s zones not listed above.

Contact Us

Questions or updates about policies?